Tuition & Fee Information

Tuition, mandatory student fees, tuition differentials, and other tuition and fee items, are approved by the University of New Mexico Board of Regents every Spring for the upcoming Academic Year, which begins with the Fall semester through the following Summer term.

A student registering for courses at UNM will be charged tuition and mandatory student fees, and may also be charged other fees such as differential tuition, course premium, course fees, the student technology fee, and other fees, based on their level (undergraduate, graduate, law, etc.), residency status, course load, their college/department, and their program.

If you are branch campus student, visit the website of the branch campus for their respective rates. Also, see the Registering at Multiple UNM Campuses section below.

See UAP 8210 ("Tuition and Related Fees") for more information.


Students admitted to the University at either of these levels are charged the applicable undergraduate tuition and fee rates.

Fall and Spring Semesters

All students registered for 1 to 11 hours are considered part-time.
All students registered for 12 or more hours are considered full-time.

New Mexico Residents

  • Students registered for 1 to 14 hours are charged the applicable resident, per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 15 or more hours are charged the applicable resident, full-time block tuition rate.

Non-Residents of New Mexico

  • Students registered for 1 to 11 hours are charged the applicable non-resident, per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 12 or more hours are charged the applicable non-resident, full-time block tuition rate.

Summer Semester

All students, except those in the College of Nursing, registered for 1 to 5 hours are considered part-time.
All students, except those in the College of Nursing, registered for 6 or more hours are considered full-time.

All Residencies, except College of Nursing students:

  • Students registered for 1 to 5 hours, are charged the applicable resident, per hour rate for those hours.
  • Students registered for 6 to 9 hours, are charged the applicable resident, full-time block tuition rate.
  • Students registered for 10 or more hours, are charged the applicable resident, full-time block tuition rate plus the applicable resident, per hour rate for every hour above 9.

College of Nursing

Students registered for 1 to 11 hours are considered part-time.
Students registered for 12 or more hours are considered full-time.

New Mexico Residents

  • Students registered for 1 to 14 hours are charged the applicable resident, per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 15 or more hours are charged the applicable resident, full-time block tuition rate.

Non-Residents of New Mexico

  • Students registered for 1 to 11 hours are charged the applicable non-resident, per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 12 or more hours are charged the applicable non-resident, full-time block tuition rate.

Students admitted to the University at either of these levels are charged the applicable graduate tuition and fee rates.

Fall and Spring Semesters

For tuition purposes, all students registered for 1 to 11 hours are considered part-time.
For tuition purposes, all students registered for 12 or more hours are considered full-time.

Main Campus (Non-Professional Programs), Health Sciences, and School of Medicine Health Professions and Research Education Programs

New Mexico Residents

  • For all hours taken, students are charged the applicable resident, per hour rate.

Non-Residents of New Mexico

  • Students registered for 1 to 11 hours are charged the applicable non-resident, per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 12 to 18 hours are charged the applicable non-resident, full-time block tuition rate.
  • Students registered for 19 or more hours are charged the applicable non-resident, full-time block tuition rate plus the non-resident per hour rate for every hour above 18.
Degree-seeking students in their first or second semester and are registered in 6 hours or less are granted resident rates.

Main Campus Professional Programs

New Mexico Residents

  • Students registered for 1 to 11 hours are charged the applicable resident, per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 12 or more hours are charged the applicable resident, full-time block tuition rate.

Non-Residents of New Mexico

  • Students registered for 1 to 11 hours are charged the applicable, non-resident per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 12 to 18 hours are charged the applicable non-resident, full-time block tuition rate.
  • Students registered for 19 or more hours are charged the applicable non-resident, full-time block tuition rate plus the applicable non-resident per hour rate for every hour above 18.
  • Degree-seeking students in their first or second semester and are registered in 6 hours or less are granted resident rates.

PharmD

New Mexico Residents

  • Students registered for 1 to 11 hours are charged the applicable resident, per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 12 or more hours are charged the applicable resident, full-time block tuition rate.

Non-Residents of New Mexico

  • Students registered for 1 to 11 hours are charged the applicable non-resident, per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 12 or more hours are charged the applicable non-resident, full-time block tuition rate.
  • Degree-seeking students in their first or second semester and are registered in 6 hours or less are granted resident rates.

School of Medicine, MD

New Mexico Residents are charged the applicable resident, block tuition rate.

Non-Residents of New Mexico are charged the applicable non-resident, block tuition rate.

Dissertation

New Mexico Residents

  • Students are charged the flat tuition rate for any number of hours.

Non-Residents of New Mexico

  • Effective Fall 2021: Students are charged the flat tuition rate for any number of hours.

Summer Semester

All students, except those in the College of Nursing, registered for 1 to 5 hours are considered part-time.
All students, except those in the College of Nursing, registered for 6 or more hours are considered full-time.

All Residencies, except College of Nursing students:

  • Students registered for 1 to 5 hours are charged the applicable resident, per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 6 to 9 hours are charged the applicable resident, full-time block tuition rate.
  • Students registered for 10 or more hours are charged the applicable resident, full-time block tuition rate plus the applicable resident, per hour rate for every hour above 9.

College of Nursing

New Mexico Residents

  • For all hours taken, students are charged the applicable resident, per hour rate.

Non-Residents of New Mexico

  • Students registered for 1 to 11 hours are charged the applicable non-resident, per hour rate for these hours.
  • Students registered for 12 to 18 hours are charged the applicable non-resident, full-time block tuition rate.
  • Students registered for 19 or more hours are charged the applicable non-resident, full-time block tuition rate plus the applicable non-resident, per hour rate for every hour above 18.
  • Degree-seeking students in their first or second semester and are registered in 6 hours or less are granted resident rates.

Dissertation

All Residencies are charged the flat tuition rate for any number of hours taken.

Differential tuition is an additional tuition cost charged by some programs of instruction. It is assessed on all credit hours for students who are admitted into a program for which it has been justified by the college or program and approved by the Board of Regents.

Questions regarding a specific differential, such as how the funds are used, should be addressed directly with the specific college or program.

Mandatory student fees are recurring fees assessed – on a per hour basis and in tandem with tuition – to all students registered on Main Campus and most students at the Health Sciences Center. These fees include a student activity fee, student government fee, and facility/information technology debt service fee.

Student activity fees are centrally collected and allocated, in accordance with  UAP 1310 (“Student Fee Review Board”), up to the approved budgeted amount for each of the units receiving the fees. 

Student government fees are assessed for undergraduates by the Associated Students of the University of New Mexico (ASUNM) and for graduate students by the Graduate and Professional Student Association (GPSA).

A debt service fee with two components, a facility fee and an enterprise resource planning project fee, is assessed to fund the repayment of outstanding principal and interest on bonds sold by the University. The fee is calculated based upon the amount needed by the University to make required debt service payments and set at the time bonds are issued.

A list of departments receiving funding from mandatory student fees is available on the Tuition and Fee Rates.

The Upper Division Course Premium is assessed on a per hour basis to all students, except graduate and non-degree graduate students, for any 300 or 400 level course offered on UNM Main Campus in which they are enrolled.

At the 2019 Budget Summit, the Board of Regents approved the new Student Technology Fee. It was established to fund Academic Technologies learning environments, with the goal of improving the student and faculty experience at UNM through thoughtful use of technologies that support student success and the teaching and learning experience. As approved, it is to be assessed every semester to all Main Campus students, including HSC students, beginning in the Fall 2019 semester.

More information about the fee is found on the  IT website.

At the 2021 Budget Summit, the Board of Regents approved a proposal to reduce the Student Activity Fee charges (within Mandatory Student Fees) that were apportioned to Student Health and Counseling (SHAC), and in its place created an alternate and specific Student Health Fee (at the same total amount as that allocated from Student Activity Fees in FY19-20). This is not a new fee, but a different way to allocate the fee that is more equitable and transparent, and was approved with the full support of ASUNM and GPSA student leaders.

More information about the fee can be found on the SHAC website here.

In May 2021, the Board of Regents approved the Athletics Student Fee to be assessed via a headcount model. Students at UNM have always paid fees to support the Athletics programs at the University, but the method in which these fee are assessed was changed by the Board of Regents to become a flat-rate, per semester fee. The Athletics fee is used to support the Athletics programs at the University and is intended to offset costs associated with student support, team travel, and other costs which benefit student-athletes.

UNM students receive free admission to all athletic events and are eligible for a number of student specific events and promotions offered by the Athletics program.

More information about the fee can be found on the Athletics website.

Requests for course fees are submitted by academic departments to and approved by the Provost or the Chancellor. They are intended to help defray costs specifically associated with certain courses and are not intended to replace general operating costs, which are paid from tuition. They are charged at the time of registration to students enrolling in specific courses, and are not included in the “mandatory fees” portion of “tuition and fees,” which are paid by all students. All students who pay course fees must benefit from the fees charged. Course fees are listed in the Schedule of Classes posted on the Registrar’s Office website. There are two types of course fees: class fees and curricular fees.

Class Fees are charged to support the instructional needs of a specific course. The fee is used to pay for required, uniquely identifiable materials or services provided to students that exceed the costs of supplies normally required. See UAP 8210.3.2.1 ("Tuition and Related Fees") for approved expenses.

Curricular Fees are charged to support curricular needs in the department, college, or school. The fee funds short-term and long-term needs for the purpose of instructing students, including technology, broadly shared materials and equipment, and other expenses relevant to multiple courses in a program. See UAP 8210.3.2.2 ("Tuition and Related Fees") for approved conditions of implementation.

A student registering for classes at multiple UNM campuses will be charged tuition and related fees separately for each of those campuses, including those hours that fall within the block rate hours. For example:

1) A student registered for 9 hours at Main Campus and 6 hours at Valencia Campus will be charged for 9 hours at Main Campus tuition and fee rates plus 6 hours at Valencia Campus tuition and fee rates. The student will not be charged the block rate at either campus since they are not meeting the hour requirement at either campus.

2) A student registered for 15 hours at Main Campus and 3 hours at Valencia Campus will be charged the block rate at Main Campus tuition and fee rates plus 3 hours at Valencia Campus tuition and fee rates.

Undergraduate

Tuition rates are the same for all residences, and are charged on a per hour basis for all hours taken. Students must register in the designated online course, however, to receive the published online rate. If a student registers in a non-designated course, the student will be charged the applicable NM Resident or Non-Resident undergraduate tuition and fee rate, in addition to all other fees associated with the course.

Graduate

Tuition rates are the same for all residences, and are charged on a per hour basis for all hours taken. Students must register in the designated online course, however, to receive the published online rate. If a student registers in a non-designated course, the student will be charged the applicable NM Resident or Non-Resident graduate tuition and fee rate, in addition to all other fees associated with the course.

Visit Accelerated Online Programs for further information.