Tuition and Fees
Tuition, Mandatory Fees and Tuition Differentials
Tuition, mandatory fees and tuition differentials are approved by the UNM Board of Regents (UNM Policy 8210) every April for the upcoming Academic Year (July through the following June). The rates approved are for the upcoming Fall and Spring Semesters as well as Summer session.
Summer Session Assessment
For the Summer session, tuition is assessed on a per hour basis up to six hours. Six to nine (6 to 9) hours is considered full-time; therefore students are assessed for 6 hours when they are registered for 6, 7, 8 or 9 hours. Students are again charged per hour beginning at the 10th hour. UNM does not charge non-resident tuition in the Summer session except for students in College of Nursing Programs.
Block tuition is then assessed from the 15th to 18th hour, meaning students are assessed for 15 hours when they are registered for 15, 16, 17 or 18 hours. Beginning at the 19th hour, students are charged block tuition plus the per hour rate for every hour above 19. If at any point during the semester a student drops below 15 hours but remains full-time, tuition will be reassessed at the non-blocked tuition rate.
Non-resident Undergraduates Assessment
Tuition for non-resident undergraduates is assessed on a per hour basis up to the 11th hour. Block tuition is then assessed from the 12th to 18th hour, meaning non-resident students are assessed for 12 hours when they are registered for 12 to 18 hours.
Fall and Spring Semesters
In the Fall and Spring semesters, full-time status begins at the 12th hour for all students, including graduate students. Tuition for NM resident undergraduates is assessed on a per hour basis up to the 14th hour.
NM Resident Graduates Assessment
Tuition for NM resident graduates is assessed on a per hour basis for all hours taken - there is no block tuition. Non-resident graduates, on the other hand, are assessed per hour up to the 11th hour and are then assessed block tuition from the 12th to 18th hour. Beginning at the 19th hour, they are charged block tuition plus the per hour rate for every hour above 19.
Some Colleges and/or Programs may also charge an additional, differential tuition. In most cases, the differential tuition is assessed as explained above (based on residency). Some differential tuition, however, is assessed per hour for all hours registered. Differential tuitions are requested by the College or Program to the Provost and are then approved by the Board of Regents. Questions pertaining to a specific differential, such as how the funds are used, should be addressed directly with the specific College or Program. Please see Tuition Rates for the specific semester for rates and information.
Upper Division and Graduate Course Premiums
In Spring 2017, the University of New Mexico approved two new tuition assessments: an Upper Division Course Premium and a Graduate Course Premium.
The Upper Division Course Premium is assessed on all 300 and 400 level courses at a rate of $18 per hour. This is assessed to any student who registers in a 300 or 400 level class at the University of New Mexico.
The Graduate Course Premium is assessed on all graduate level courses, including dissertation level, offered by the Colleges of Arts Sciences, Fine Arts, Education, Library Learning Sciences and University College. The rate is $18 per hour and is assessed to any student who registers in one of these courses.
A student registering for classes at multiple campuses will be charged separately for each of those campuses. For example, a student who is registered for 12 hours at Main Campus and 6 hours at Valencia Campus will be charged full-time (12 hours) at Main Campus rates and 6 hours at Valencia Campus.
In addition to Tuition, students are assessed mandatory fees, and may be assessed separate Course Fees. The Student Activity Fee, as prescribed in UNM Policy 1310, is assessed to all students registered on main campus, including the Health Sciences Center, and is assessed with tuition. Through the Student Fee Review Board (SFRB), ASUNM and GPSA hold deliberations on the fee amount to assess. The Board of Regents approves the final amount.
Course Fees, on the other hand, per UNM Policy 8210.3, "are intended to help defray costs specifically associated with certain courses and are not intended to replace general operating costs, which are paid from tuition." At the request of the academic department, they "are approved by the Provost/Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs or the Chancellor for Health Sciences" (UNM Policy 8210).